Gluten-free Billington’s Brownies #Bakeface

Last week, I got an adorable hamper through the post from the lovely BakingMad.com. The challenge? To show them my best #bakeface – the face you make when you take the all-important first bite of something deliciously warm and fresh out of the oven.

Billingtons HamperBillingtons Bakeface Hamper

The recipe provided was for Billington’s Brownies – gooey, chocolatey and indulgent, with cherries throughout. I deviated from the recipe provided to make it gluten-free, of course.

For this recipe, you’ll need:

3 eggs

175g Billington’s dark muscovado sugar

200g unsalted butter

200g chocolate (I used a mixture of dark and milk)

110g gluten free plain flour

3 tbsp cocoa powder

2 tsp baking powder

100g glace cherries

pinch of salt

To make the brownies gluten free, I used gluten free flour (shocker). I followed the recipe on the site, with two exceptions: while you are folding the flour in, add the cocoa powder and baking powder for best results. I also combined dark and milk chocolate – I’d like to say for a deeper, more complex flavour. (I’d run out of dark chocolate).

Gluten free billingtons brownies Gluten free Billingtons BrownieGluten free brownies Gluten free billingtons brownies

The #Bakeface challenge was a great excuse to bake something I wouldn’t usually – and I had a great time! Here’s my bakeface below – although I’m not eating that particular gluten-filled brownie – taken at the Cake and Bake Show, which I will be covering in my next post!

Bakeface

Have you submitted your #bakeface?

Leave a comment